Konami ‘Celebrates’ Castlevania 35th With NFT Auction

0
2
Konami 'Celebrates' Castlevania 35th With NFT Auction

The ‘KONAMI MEMORIAL NFT collection”https://www.nintendolife.com/features”14 unique artworks from the Castlevania series’ consisting of ‘game scenes, background music (BGM), and newly drawn visuals from across the series’ history.’

(US East) Jan.12 17:00 – Jan.14 21:00 EST
(US West) Jan.12 14:00 – Jan.14 18:00 PST
(UK) Jan.12 22:00 – Jan.15 02:00 GMT
(Japan) Jan.13 07:00 – Jan.15 11:00 JST

Image: Konami

You can check out more information on the individual artworks on the official site.

Story Highlights

  • This year, Konami’s Castlevania series turns 35, which might fill you with the hope that the Japanese veteran has plans to release a new game or a special collection of past titles. However, we’re sad to report that – for now, at least – Konami’s celebrations consist of an auction of NFT artwork relating to the series.

  • The collection will be put up for worldwide auction on OpenSea (a popular NFT trading platform) from the following times:

So, what does your purchase get you? Well, not a great deal, to be honest. You will “own” the NFT, of course, but they’re not particularly unique – they’re all scenes and audio taken from the games, rather than totally unique content created especially for this auction.

“You will be entitled to have your desired nickname listed as the first purchaser of the NFT on our website,” says Konami. However, the period of time your name will be online runs from mid-February 2022 to December 31st, 2022, so it’s not a permanent deal (although Konami does say that the period might be extended).

If that wasn’t disheartening enough, it would seem that Konami – like Square Enix, Sega, Ubisoft and EA – has big plans for NFTs, and this is just the beginning: KONAMI MEMORIAL NFT is a new initiative to share content that has been loved by players all over the world, for many years. As the company’s first project in this area and with NFTs and blockchain technology in its infancy, KONAMI will continue to explore new developments and listen to player feedback following this initial collection.